How to Reset Family Tree Maker 2017 to default for Apple Computers?
In this blog, we are going to explain how you will be able to reset family Tree Maker 2017 to default. Please know this blog is only for Mac (apple computers). For windows computer, please read our other blog. Sometimes, if your program does not work properly then you can restore to default. Please know resetting to default will not cause any data lose.
Let’s follow the steps below to reset family tree maker.
- Click on Go on the top bar of your mac screen on the menu bar and then click on Library.
- In the Library folder, Go to Preferences and find com.mackiev.FamilyTreeMaker2017.plist. we need to remove this file from the computer. You need to click on the file and hold and move it to trash. You need to make sure you empty your trash folder as well.
- After deleting this file, you will need to restart your computer.
Note: Please do not delete anything else. If you do delete any of your important file, you may lose them, and you will not be able to get them back. If you are not tech savvy, then you should hire a tech and let them do it for you.
This is how you reset Family Tree Maker 2017. If you have followed the steps as described, you will be able to successfully be resetting your family tree maker.
Remember as I said, you will not lose your family tree data, but you will not see any family tree files there and you will need to register your copy of Family tree maker again. Once you done with your registration. You need to import all your family tree files back to your FTM software.
If you need premium technician service then please call our Family Tree Maker support number +1-888-299-3207 to get help. We would like to tell you, we are not MacKiev support and we have no relation with MacKiev.